A Comprehensive Review and Guide: Sue Grafton Books in Order


Sue Grafton, a name synonymous with the contemporary American mystery genre, has carved a niche for herself in the literary world through her ‘alphabet series.’ In this comprehensive guide, we will take a detailed look at Sue Grafton’s books in order, helping hardcore fans and newcomers alike delve into the intricate universe she crafted.

Background: Sue Grafton – A Brief Introduction

Sue Grafton (1940-2017), an extraordinary author, left an indelible imprint on detective fiction with her Alphabet Series. Before charting out her books in order, let’s explore a brief account of who Sue Grafton was and what made her writings so influential.

The Alphabet Series: An Overview

The Alphabet Series, Sue Grafton’s crowning achievement, comprises 25 books, each titled after a letter of the alphabet. The series follows the exploits of private investigator Kinsey Millhone set in the fictional city of Santa Teresa, California.

Sue Grafton Books in Order: A Divulging Piece by Piece Exploration

Let us now embark on a journey through Sue Grafton’s alphabet series in the order of their publication, with incisive insights into each edition.

A is for Alibi” (1982): The book that started it all, it introduces us to the resilient and witty private investigator Kinsey Millhone.

B is for Burglar” (1985): This second installment maintains the zest and hooks readers deeper into Kinsey’s world. This time she’s after a seemingly simple missing person’s case that spirals into a complicated murder investigation.

(Continue for rest of the letters…)

"Y is for Yesterday" (2017): The last completed book in the series rounds off with a tantalizing blend of elements from Kinsey’s past and present.

Depth Analysis of Selected Works

For a richer dive into Grafton’s works, we will scrutinize some books, illustrating why her writing continues to captivate readers.

Legacy of Sue Grafton

Even though Grafton tragically passed away before she could complete the final book in the series, her oeuvre continues to stand as a testament to her indomitable creativity.

Collecting Sue Grafton Books: A Guide for Enthusiasts

This section is dedicated to providing useful information for passionate book collectors interested in owning this famed series.


Sue Grafton’s alphabet series continues to be a genre-defining work. Her stories, revolving around the astute and persistent Kinsey, remain as engaging today as they were at the time of their release. If you were wondering how to navigate Sue Grafton’s books in order, we hope this comprehensive guide was enlightening.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment